NO INTERNET AFTER ROUTER RESET

Usually, when you reset the router, all the customized settings, including Wi-Fi name (SSID), wireless security, etc. will be erased.Some routers such as Linksys, have the Backup and Restore configuration feature. Using this feature, you can save a backup file of the Linksys router configuration before resetting it. You don’t have to manually re-configure the Linksys router after resetting it, instead just restore the backup file.

how-to-block-peer-to-peer-on-router

To save the backup file before resetting the Linksys router, follow the instructions given below.

Steps to set Backup configuration

  • Step 1:Open a web browser on your system.
  • Step 2:Sign in to the Linksys router’s web-based setup page using its IP address.
  • Step 3:Now the login pop-up dialog box will appear on the screen.
  • Step 4:Type your Linksys router’s credentials in the given field and click the Login button.
  • Step 5:If you have not changed the default username and password of the Linksys router, then enter the default credentials in the given fields.
  • Step 6:The default password of the Linksys router is admin.  The username field is to be left blank.
  • Step 7:Now the Linksys router setup page will open.
  • Step 8:Navigate to the Administrator option.
  • Step 9:The Management sub-tab will open.
  • Step 10:Locate the Backup and Restore column, click Backup Configuration.
  • Step 11:Now the File Download pop-up dialog box will appear, click the Save button on it.
  • Step 12:You will be asked to choose the folder or location to save the backup file.
  • Step 13:Select the location and click the Save button in the Save As pop-up dialog box.

Perform the below steps after resetting your Linksys router.

Steps to set Restore configuration

  • Step 1:Refer to the above steps to reach the Management sub-tab.
  • Step 2:On the Management page, navigate to the Backup and Restore column. Click the Restore Configuration button beside Backup Configuration.
  • Step 3:Select the location where you have saved the backup file and click the Open button.
  • Step 4:After selecting the backup file, click the Start to Restore button. Now the restoration process begins automatically.
  • Step 5:After the restoration, check if the internet access is available.
  • Step 6:If you are not able to access the Internet, reboot the modem and the router.
  • Step 7:For more solutions and assistance, contact our technical experts.